The Navajo Nation

Office of the President

     The Navajo Nation

Office of the President

Navajo Nation President Buu Nygren takes oath of office with Vice President Richelle Montoya, 25th Navajo Nation Council members, and elected officials

WINDOW ROCK, Navajo Nation — In a historic inauguration ceremony Tuesday, Navajo Nation President Buu Nygren took his oath of office to become the youngest-ever president alongside Vice President Richelle Montoya, the first-ever woman vice president.

“We are honored to lead this next era of the Navajo Nation with the courage and conviction to do what’s necessary for the future of our Navajo People. It’s our vision and our promise to always be thinking for the future, and it’s with your partnership and collaboration that we will succeed together. I invite leaders from all our local, state, federal, and Tribal governments, along with our Navajo People, to embrace the vision and promise of true Tribal Sovereignty. It is through working with each other that we will bring about positive change for our Great Navajo Nation. We will forever recognize the power of the Peoples’ vote, and we will work hard at every step of this effort on your behalf as your leaders,” said President Nygren.

President Nygren addressed the crowd of more than 5,000 Navajo citizens, public dignitaries, and leaders of private enterprises at the Bee Hółdzil Fighting Scouts Events Center in Fort Defiance. President Nygren’s grandmother, Marilyn Slim, held the traditional Navajo basket and Holy Bible on which President Nygren laid his hand to give his oath. First Lady and former Arizona State Representative Jasmine Blackwater Nygren stood directly behind President Nygren with their young daughter.

Vice President Richelle Montoya took her oath of office with Second Gentleman Olsen Chee supporting the Holy Bible upon which Vice President Montoya placed her left hand.

Vice President Montoya, the first-ever woman vice president, said: “Progress has been made through the historic vote of the Navajo People. We are here, today, standing on the shoulders of our ancestors and the matriarchs who secured the sovereignty that we continue to embrace. Thank you to the Navajo People for recognizing and supporting the leadership that Navajo women provide as elected leaders. For the next four years, I will give you my very best, shik’éí.”

Navajo Nation Supreme Court Chief Justice JoAnn Jayne administered the oath of office for President Nygren and Vice President Richelle Montoya.

President Nygren and Vice President Montoya assumed the Offices of the President and Vice President at noon on Tuesday. The terms of office for the President and Vice President are each four years.


Tuesday’s inauguration ceremony included the swearing-in of the members of the 25th Navajo Nation Council, the legislative body of the Navajo Nation. The 24-member Council includes the highest-ever number of woman delegates after Navajo voters cast their ballots in the 2022 General Election.

Five members of the Navajo Nation Board of Election Supervisors also took their oaths of office on Tuesday, each representing one of the five Navajo Nation agencies. The five agencies are, collectively, comprised of all 110 local Navajo Nation chapter governments

Five members of the Navajo Nation Board of Education took their oaths of office representing the five agencies on the governing board of the Navajo Department of Diné Education.

Four local commissioners were also sworn in, two of which will serve on the Naschitti Community Governance commission and two will serve on the Kayenta Township commission.

71 school board members representing a combined 15 local school boards across the Navajo Nation were also in attendance to take their oaths of office.

The 2023 Navajo Nation Inauguration day included celebration events and a reception following the ceremony at the Window Rock Fair Grounds. A United States Air Force military fly-over was also conducted commemorating the historic day.